Skip to content
CivicSeat Knox County, Tennessee
Coverage How we know Sign in Join
JS

Knox County · Board of Commissioners

John Schoonmaker

Republican · District 5 · Sep 1, 2020 – Aug 31, 2024

John Schoonmaker has cast 2,812 published votes on the Knox County, TN Board of Commissioners, attending 100% of recorded roll calls, with 100 motions made and 40 dissents (a “no” on an adopted item).

On the issues

Attendance

2812 of 2812

recorded votes he or she was present for

present means neither absent nor recused

0

recorded votes marked absent or recused

Counted from roll calls, not a sign-in sheet — a member who was present but recorded no vote is indistinguishable here from one who was absent.

When the board disagrees

126 contested decisions · how these are counted

126

contested decisions he or she cast a yes or no on

a decision is contested when at least one member voted the other way

40

of those, voted no on something adopted anyway

100 / 317

motions moved / seconded

Recaps: First 100 days · 2024 in review · 2023 in review · 2022 in review · 2021 in review · 2020 in review

Deterministic breakdowns of John Schoonmaker’s published record — not a score or a rating. Raw counts are always shown; a percentage appears only once there are at least 10 votes. As of the meeting of August 31, 2026 — the newest published record.

Votes by topic

Topic Votes Aye No Abstain Body median
Zoning & land use 518 482 (93%) 33 (6%) 3 11–0 See votes →
Budget & taxes 122 122 (100%) 0 (0%) 0 10–0 See votes →
Contracts & purchasing 437 435 (100%) 2 (0%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Personnel & appointments 216 211 (98%) 3 (1%) 2 11–0 See votes →
Schools 406 406 (100%) 0 (0%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Public safety 170 166 (98%) 4 (2%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Roads & infrastructure 249 248 (100%) 1 (0%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Parks & community 92 91 (99%) 1 (1%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Intergovernmental & resolutions 251 244 (97%) 6 (2%) 1 11–0 See votes →
Surveillance & privacy technology 7 7 0 0 10–0 See votes →

Attendance & dissent over time

Attendance rate

Dissents (no on adopted)

Sep 2020 Dec 2024
Full term · Sep 2020–Dec 2024. Vertical lines mark election dates.
  • May 3, 2022 · County primary
  • Aug 4, 2022 · County general
  • Mar 5, 2024 · County primary
  • Aug 1, 2024 · County general

Source: Knox County Election Commission.

Year Votes Present Attendance Dissents
2020 267 267 100% 4 See votes →
2021 664 664 100% 6 See votes →
2022 604 604 100% 9 See votes →
2023 746 746 100% 9 See votes →
2024 531 531 100% 12 See votes →

Agreement with other members

Computed over contested votes only — the 126 non-unanimous (split) votes John Schoonmaker cast, where the room recorded at least one Aye and at least one No. Unanimous votes are excluded because they carry no signal.

Member Voted the same Shared split votes
Carson Dailey 90 of 125 (72%) 125
Justin Biggs 36 of 56 (64%) 56
Charles Busler 36 of 57 (63%) 57
Rhonda Lee 38 of 61 (62%) 61
Randy Smith 36 of 61 (59%) 61
Kyle Ward 68 of 121 (56%) 121
Gina Oster 34 of 61 (56%) 61
Richie Beeler 62 of 119 (52%) 119
Terry Hill 57 of 114 (50%) 114
Larsen Jay 60 of 126 (48%) 126
Dasha Lundy 54 of 114 (47%) 114
Courtney Durrett 54 of 117 (46%) 117
Kim Frazier 27 of 59 (46%) 59

See John Schoonmaker’s split votes →

Motions made & seconded, by topic

Topic Made Seconded
Zoning & land use 22 48 See votes →
Budget & taxes 13 14 See votes →
Contracts & purchasing 4 45 See votes →
Personnel & appointments 14 21 See votes →
Schools 0 58 See votes →
Public safety 3 11 See votes →
Roads & infrastructure 3 19 See votes →
Parks & community 1 15 See votes →
Intergovernmental & resolutions 4 21 See votes →

How these breakdowns are computed

Every figure on this page is a deterministic computation over John Schoonmaker’s published roll-call votes on Knox County, TN Board of Commissioners — the same record set behind the vote table below. Nothing is a composite score, a grade, or a ranking. The general pipeline (sources, extraction, gates, review) is described on the methodology page.

  • Votes by topic. Each published motion is attributed to every distinct neutral topic its agenda items carry — the primary subject and any secondary tags alike, so an item counts under every topic it’s about (and a consent-calendar motion covering several items counts under each); procedural items are excluded, as in the default vote browser. Aye/No/Abstain are counts of John Schoonmaker’s own vote. A percentage is shown only when the topic has at least 10 votes. Body median is the median of the Aye and No tallies across the same motion set — the typical room split on that topic.
  • Attendance & dissent over time. Bucketed by the calendar year of each meeting. Attendance = votes where John Schoonmaker was recorded present (not absent or recused) ÷ total votes that year; the percentage is shown only when the year has at least 10 votes. Dissents = “No” votes on motions the body adopted anyway. The denominators for every year are in the table above.
  • Term timeline & election markers. The two trend strips plot the yearly attendance and dissent figures above on a single time axis spanning John Schoonmaker’s full term (Sep 1, 2020–Aug 31, 2024). The vertical lines mark public election-calendar dates — candidate-filing deadlines, primaries, and general elections — that fall within that span, each labeled with its date and type. Those dates are a matter of public record (source: Knox County Election Commission); the timeline itself makes no claim about them. It marks the dates and draws the line; any pattern near an election is the reader’s to notice, not ours to assert.
  • Agreement with other members. Computed over contested votes only — motions where the roll call recorded at least one Aye and at least one No. For each colleague, the record set is the split motions where both cast an Aye or No (their seated overlap); “voted the same” counts the motions they cast the identical value on. A percentage is shown only when that shared set reaches 10 votes. Unanimous votes are excluded on purpose: they would launder everyone into near-total agreement.
  • Motions made & seconded. Straight counts of published motions where John Schoonmaker is recorded as the mover or the seconder in the minutes, grouped by the motion’s neutral topic(s).

Campaign finance

Reproduced from John Schoonmaker’s own campaign-finance disclosures — a public record. Amounts are the totals stated on each filing, or the itemized schedule where the filing’s own totals are not machine-readable; each row links to the filed document. We add nothing the filing does not state.

Report Raised Spent Filed
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 5 as of Jul 20, 2026 Filed — reported no money raised or spent easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 5 as of Jan 29, 2026 Filed — reported no money raised or spent easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 5 as of Jul 15, 2025 Filed — reported no money raised or spent easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 5 as of Jan 30, 2025 $0total as filed $314total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 5 as of Jul 16, 2024 $0total as filed $945total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 5 as of Jan 29, 2024 — $480total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →

The county’s structured data does not carry the itemized schedule for the Campaign Financial Disclosure report, so individual contributors and payees are not listed here. The filing itself lists them — follow its source link above.

Totals are the sum of the itemized contribution and expenditure schedules as disclosed. Schedules are itemized only at or above the filing threshold; sub-threshold amounts and the filer’s stated cover-page totals are not part of this structured record, so they are not shown here rather than guessed.

Disclosed interests

Reprinted from John Schoonmaker’s annual Statement of Interests (Form SS-8005) — a public record filed with the Tennessee Ethics Commission. Entity names and categories exactly as filed, for the official and spouse; the form states no dollar amounts, and neither do we. Each filing links to its source.

2024

Category Entity Held by
Income source / employer KOHL'S DEPT STORE Spouse
Investment MERRILL LYNCH WEALTH MANAGEMENT Official
Investment KNOX COUNTY RETIREMENT 401(A) Official
Investment KOHL'S DEPT STORE 401(K) Spouse
Investment TIAA Spouse

Source filing →

Appointments moved

Board and committee appointments John Schoonmaker moved or seconded, as recorded in the minutes. Each links to the full decision, where the complete roll call is shown.

Appointee Board Term Decision
Michael Covington Knox County Ethics Committee not stated Oct 25, 2021 →
Commissioner Durrett Board of Directors of the Development Corporation not stated Sep 1, 2021 →
George Ewart Knox County Historic Zoning Commission not stated Feb 22, 2021 →
Commissioner Carson Dailey Knox County Fire and Technical Rescue Committee not stated Jan 25, 2021 →

Voting record

Meeting Agenda item Vote Badges
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-104-SS Resolution appointing/reappointing commissioner to Knox County Investment Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO SERVE ON THE KNOX COUNTY INVESTMENT COMMITTEE ALONG WITH THE CHAIR OF THE COMMISSION - R-20-9-104-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-103-SS Resolution continuing participation in Joint Education Committee and appointing members CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, PROVIDING FOR THE COMMISSION’S CONTINUED PARTICIPATION IN THE JOINT EDUCATION COMMITTEE THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2021 AND APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING THREE (3) COMMISSIONERS TO SERVE ON SAID COMMITTEE - R-20-9-103-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-102-SS Resolution appointing/reappointing commissioner to Development Corporation Board CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION OF KNOX COUNTY ALONG WITH THE CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR OF THE COMMISSION - R-20-9-102-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-101-SS Resolution appointing commissioners to standing committees CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION (STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE RULES COMMITTEE, COURT SUBCOMMITTEE, INSOLVENCY BOARD AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE) - R-20-9-101-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-101-SS Resolution appointing commissioners to standing committees CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION (STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE RULES COMMITTEE, COURT SUBCOMMITTEE, INSOLVENCY BOARD AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE) - R-20-9-101-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-101-SS Resolution appointing commissioners to standing committees CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION (STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE RULES COMMITTEE, COURT SUBCOMMITTEE, INSOLVENCY BOARD AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE) - R-20-9-101-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-101-SS Resolution appointing commissioners to standing committees CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION (STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE RULES COMMITTEE, COURT SUBCOMMITTEE, INSOLVENCY BOARD AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE) - R-20-9-101-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
R-20-9-101-SS Resolution appointing commissioners to standing committees CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION (STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE RULES COMMITTEE, COURT SUBCOMMITTEE, INSOLVENCY BOARD AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE) - R-20-9-101-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
Re-organization of the commission with election of Chair and Vice-Chair CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:
Aye
Sep 1, 2020
Re-organization of the commission with election of Chair and Vice-Chair CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 1, 2020
Re-organization of the commission with election of Chair and Vice-Chair CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:
No
Split
Sep 1, 2020
Re-organization of the commission with election of Chair and Vice-Chair CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:
Aye
Unanimous
Report inaccurate data