Skip to content
CivicSeat Knox County, Tennessee
Coverage How we know Sign in Join
Portrait of Shane Jackson

Knox County · Board of Commissioners

Shane Jackson

Democratic · District 4 · Sep 1, 2024 – present

Photo: Knox County (official portrait, used for identification)

Shane Jackson has cast 1,440 published votes on the Knox County, TN Board of Commissioners, attending 93.8% of recorded roll calls, with 28 motions made and 17 dissents (a “no” on an adopted item).

Elected Aug 1, 2024: Shane Jackson defeated Garrett Holt by 174 votes. Official results (PDF)

On the issues

Attendance

1351 of 1440

recorded votes he or she was present for

present means neither absent nor recused

89

recorded votes marked absent or recused

Counted from roll calls, not a sign-in sheet — a member who was present but recorded no vote is indistinguishable here from one who was absent.

When the board disagrees

151 contested decisions · how these are counted

151

contested decisions he or she cast a yes or no on

a decision is contested when at least one member voted the other way

17

of those, voted no on something adopted anyway

28 / 115

motions moved / seconded

Recaps: First 100 days · 2026 in review · 2025 in review · 2024 in review

Deterministic breakdowns of Shane Jackson’s published record — not a score or a rating. Raw counts are always shown; a percentage appears only once there are at least 10 votes. As of the meeting of August 31, 2026 — the newest published record.

Votes by topic

Topic Votes Aye No Abstain Body median
Zoning & land use 246 224 (91%) 10 (4%) 1 11–0 See votes →
Budget & taxes 59 46 (78%) 12 (20%) 0 10–0 See votes →
Contracts & purchasing 207 192 (93%) 0 (0%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Personnel & appointments 100 89 (89%) 5 (5%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Schools 180 167 (93%) 1 (1%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Public safety 63 56 (89%) 2 (3%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Roads & infrastructure 159 144 (91%) 1 (1%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Parks & community 56 55 (98%) 0 (0%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Intergovernmental & resolutions 114 101 (89%) 7 (6%) 0 11–0 See votes →
Surveillance & privacy technology 4 4 0 0 11–0 See votes →

Attendance & dissent over time

Attendance rate

Dissents (no on adopted)

Sep 2024 present
Full term · Sep 2024–present. Vertical lines mark election dates.

Source: Knox County Election Commission.

Year Votes Present Attendance Dissents
2024 280 275 98% 0 See votes →
2025 698 628 90% 12 See votes →
2026 448 434 97% 4 See votes →

Agreement with other members

Computed over contested votes only — the 151 non-unanimous (split) votes Shane Jackson cast, where the room recorded at least one Aye and at least one No. Unanimous votes are excluded because they carry no signal.

Member Voted the same Shared split votes
Damon Rawls 127 of 149 (85%) 149
Courtney Durrett 122 of 144 (85%) 144
Terry Hill 122 of 147 (83%) 147
Larsen Jay 120 of 149 (81%) 149
Gina Oster 119 of 148 (80%) 148
Kim Frazier 82 of 118 (69%) 118
Adam Thompson 96 of 148 (65%) 148
Rhonda Lee 64 of 148 (43%) 148
Angela Russell 43 of 135 (32%) 135
Andy Fox 37 of 142 (26%) 142

See Shane Jackson’s split votes →

Motions made & seconded, by topic

Topic Made Seconded
Zoning & land use 8 14 See votes →
Budget & taxes 2 6 See votes →
Contracts & purchasing 0 15 See votes →
Personnel & appointments 2 10 See votes →
Schools 4 11 See votes →
Public safety 0 8 See votes →
Roads & infrastructure 0 12 See votes →
Parks & community 0 14 See votes →
Intergovernmental & resolutions 1 6 See votes →

How these breakdowns are computed

Every figure on this page is a deterministic computation over Shane Jackson’s published roll-call votes on Knox County, TN Board of Commissioners — the same record set behind the vote table below. Nothing is a composite score, a grade, or a ranking. The general pipeline (sources, extraction, gates, review) is described on the methodology page.

  • Votes by topic. Each published motion is attributed to every distinct neutral topic its agenda items carry — the primary subject and any secondary tags alike, so an item counts under every topic it’s about (and a consent-calendar motion covering several items counts under each); procedural items are excluded, as in the default vote browser. Aye/No/Abstain are counts of Shane Jackson’s own vote. A percentage is shown only when the topic has at least 10 votes. Body median is the median of the Aye and No tallies across the same motion set — the typical room split on that topic.
  • Attendance & dissent over time. Bucketed by the calendar year of each meeting. Attendance = votes where Shane Jackson was recorded present (not absent or recused) ÷ total votes that year; the percentage is shown only when the year has at least 10 votes. Dissents = “No” votes on motions the body adopted anyway. The denominators for every year are in the table above.
  • Term timeline & election markers. The two trend strips plot the yearly attendance and dissent figures above on a single time axis spanning Shane Jackson’s full term (Sep 1, 2024–present). The vertical lines mark public election-calendar dates — candidate-filing deadlines, primaries, and general elections — that fall within that span, each labeled with its date and type. Those dates are a matter of public record (source: Knox County Election Commission); the timeline itself makes no claim about them. It marks the dates and draws the line; any pattern near an election is the reader’s to notice, not ours to assert.
  • Agreement with other members. Computed over contested votes only — motions where the roll call recorded at least one Aye and at least one No. For each colleague, the record set is the split motions where both cast an Aye or No (their seated overlap); “voted the same” counts the motions they cast the identical value on. A percentage is shown only when that shared set reaches 10 votes. Unanimous votes are excluded on purpose: they would launder everyone into near-total agreement.
  • Motions made & seconded. Straight counts of published motions where Shane Jackson is recorded as the mover or the seconder in the minutes, grouped by the motion’s neutral topic(s).

Campaign finance

Reproduced from Shane Jackson’s own campaign-finance disclosures — a public record. Amounts are the totals stated on each filing, or the itemized schedule where the filing’s own totals are not machine-readable; each row links to the filed document. We add nothing the filing does not state.

Report Raised Spent Filed
2026 mid -year County Commission, District 4 as of Jul 20, 2026 Filed — reported no money raised or spent easyvote — 2026 mid -year →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Feb 3, 2026 $0total as filed $413total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Jul 14, 2025 — — easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Year End Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Jan 27, 2025 — — easyvote — Year End Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Oct 10, 2024 $878total as filed $13,170total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Jul 25, 2024 $5,582total as filed $34,796total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
2nd Qtr County Commission, District 4 as of Jul 8, 2024 $33,732total as filed $12,305total as filed easyvote — 2nd Qtr →
Shane Jackson 1st Qtr County Commission, District 4 as of Apr 10, 2024 $14,032total as filed $3,641total as filed easyvote — Shane Jackson 1st Qtr →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Feb 27, 2024 summary figures do not add up as filed; reproduced as written $10,656total as filed $6,951total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →
Campaign Financial Disclosure County Commission, District 4 as of Jan 31, 2024 $12,571total as filed $4,361total as filed easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure →

The county’s structured data does not carry the itemized schedule for the 2026 mid -year report, so individual contributors and payees are not listed here. The filing itself lists them — follow its source link above.

Totals are the sum of the itemized contribution and expenditure schedules as disclosed. Schedules are itemized only at or above the filing threshold; sub-threshold amounts and the filer’s stated cover-page totals are not part of this structured record, so they are not shown here rather than guessed.

Disclosed interests

Reprinted from Shane Jackson’s annual Statement of Interests (Form SS-8005) — a public record filed with the Tennessee Ethics Commission. Entity names and categories exactly as filed, for the official and spouse; the form states no dollar amounts, and neither do we. Each filing links to its source.

2026

Category Entity Held by
Loan PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS : Loan received by Filer Official
Professional services Public Accounting, NO CLIENTS : Furnished by Filer Official
Investment PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Spouse
Income source / employer CASA OF EAST TENNESSEE Spouse
Investment PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official
Income source / employer RENTAL INCOME ON 2 HOUSES Spouse
Loan PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS : Loan received by Spouse Spouse
Income source / employer PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official

Source filing →

2025

Category Entity Held by
Investment PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Spouse
Income source / employer PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official
Income source / employer CASA OF EAST TENNESSEE Spouse
Income source / employer RENTAL INCOME ON 2 HOUSES Spouse
Investment PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official
Professional services Public Accounting, NO CLIENTS : Furnished by Filer Official
Loan PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS : Loan received by Filer Official
Loan PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS : Loan received by Spouse Spouse

Source filing →

2024

Category Entity Held by
Income source / employer PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official
Loan PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS : Loan received by Filer Official
Loan PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS : Loan received by Filer Official
Investment PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official
Investment PINNACLE FINANCIAL PARTNERS Official
Income source / employer RENTAL INCOME ON 2 HOUSES Spouse
Income source / employer CASA OF EAST TENNESSEE Spouse

Source filing →

Appointments moved

Board and committee appointments Shane Jackson moved or seconded, as recorded in the minutes. Each links to the full decision, where the complete roll call is shown.

Appointee Board Term Decision
Barak Saltzman Public Building Authority not stated Oct 27, 2025 →

Voting record

Meeting Agenda item Vote Badges
Sep 16, 2024
8-A-24-RZ Approve rezoning for Maddox Const. from A Agric to OB Office/Medical Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, approving the request of Maddox Construction Company Inc. for rezoning from A Agricultural to OB Office, Medical and Related Services subject to one condition as per Planning Commission’s recommendation. Property located at 111 Cogdill Road, Parcel ID 131FB021. (5th Commission District)
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024
8-A-24-PA Approve Comprehensive Plan amend for Maddox Const. from SR to BP Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, approving the request of Maddox Construction Company Inc. for a Comprehensive Plan amendment from SR Suburban Residential to BP Business Park as per Planning Commission’s recommendation. Property located at 111 Cogdill Road, Parcel ID 131FB021. (5th Commission District)
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024
7-Q-24-RZ Approve rezoning for Petr Fesyuk from A Agric to PR Planned Residential Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, approving the request of Petr Fesyuk for rezoning from A Agricultural to PR Planned Residential up to 6 dwelling units per acre as per Planning Commission’s recommendation. Property located at 7404 Willow Fork Lane, Parcel ID 038 122 (part of). (7th Commission District)
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024
6-B-24-RZ Approve rezoning for Sarah Peacock from I Industrial to OC Civic and Institutional Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, approving the request of Sarah Peacock for rezoning from I Industrial to OC Civic and Institutional as per Planning Commission’s recommendation. Property located at 5700 Rutledge Pike, Parcel ID 060 140 (part of). (8th Commission District)
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024 Motion to defer:
4-O-24-RZ Defer rezoning for William Dale Rhoton from A Agric to RB Gen Residential Request of William Dale Rhoton for rezoning from A Agricultural to RB General Residential, property located at 611 West Governor John Sevier Highway, Parcel ID 137 144 01, (9th Commission District)
Aye
Deferred
Sep 16, 2024
Approve minutes from August 19, 2024 meeting Minutes from the previous meeting held on August 19, 2024
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024 Motion to amend:
Amend agenda to add Benjamin C. Mullins rezoning request Add the following item: Item #12 - 6-Q-24-RZ - Request of Benjamin C. Mullins for rezoning from PC Planned Commercial to OB Office, Medical and Related Services, property located at 300 Ebenezer Road, Parcel ID 132 03601, (3rd Commission District).
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024 Motion to amend:
Amend agenda to defer Logan Higgins Comprehensive Plan and rezoning requests Defer the following items to the October 2024 meeting: Item #9 - 8-G-24-PA - Request of Logan Higgins for a Comprehensive Plan amendment from RC Rural Commercial to SMR Suburban Mixed Residential, property located at 0 West Governor John Sevier Highway, Parcel ID 137 151, (9th Commission District); and Item 10 - 8-O-24-RZ - Request of Logan Higgins for rezoning from PR(k) Planned Residential up to 2 dwelling units per acre to PR(k) Planned Residential up to 8 dwelling units per acre, property located at 0 West Governor John Sevier Highway, Parcel ID 137 151, (9th Commission District).
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024 Motion to amend:
Amend agenda to hear Magnolia Capital Group LLC and William Dale Rhoton rezoning requests Hear the following items after Approval of Minutes from the previous meeting: Item #11 - 7-A-24-RZ - Request of Magnolia Capital Group LLC for rezoning from PR Planned Residential up to 3 dwelling units per acre to PR Planned Residential up to 7 dwelling units per acre, property located at 0 East Governor John Sevier Highway, Parcel ID 125 00508, (9th Commission District); and Item #22 – 4-O-24-RZ - Request of William Dale Rhoton for rezoning from A Agricultural to RB General Residential, property located at 611 West Governor John Sevier Highway, Parcel ID 137 144 01, (9th Commission District).
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 16, 2024 Motion to amend:
Initiate rezoning of certain parcels within the Ninth District Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, to initiate rezoning of certain parcels within the Ninth District of Knox County, Tennessee
No
Split Failed
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-114-SS Resolution appointing a Commissioner to the Knox County Code Commission CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO COMPLETE AN UNFULFILLED TERM ON THE KNOX COUNTY CODE COMMISSION - R-24-9-114-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-113-SS Resolution appointing a Commissioner to the Agricultural Extension Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO COMPLETE AN UNFULFILLED TERM ON THE AGRICULTURAL EXTENSION COMMITTEE - R-24-9-113-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-112-SS Resolution reappointing Commissioner Terry Hill to the Knox County Retirement and Pension Board CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, REAPPOINTING COMMISSIONER TERRY HILL TO THE KNOX COUNTY RETIREMENT AND PENSION BOARD - R-24-9-112-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-111-SS Resolution appointing two Commissioners to the Knox County Retirement and Pension Board CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING TWO (2) COMMISSIONERS TO THE KNOX COUNTY RETIREMENT AND PENSION BOARD - R-24-9-111-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-110-SS Resolution confirming Mayor's appointment of Commissioner Andy Fox to Public Records Commission CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, CONFIRMING THE KNOX COUNTY MAYOR’S APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER ANDY FOX TO THE KNOX COUNTY PUBLIC RECORDS COMMISSION - R-24-9-110-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-109-SS Resolution appointing/reappointing four Commissioners to the Personnel Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING FOUR (4) COMMISSIONERS TO SERVE ON THE PERSONNEL COMMITTEE ALONG WITH THE CHAIR OF COMMISSION - R-24-9-109-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-108-SS Resolution appointing a Commissioner to the Metro Drug Coalition Board of Directors CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO THE METRO DRUG COALITION BOARD OF DIRECTORS - R-24-9-108-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-107-SS Resolution on Joint Education Committee participation and appointments CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, PROVIDING FOR THE COMMISSION’S CONTINUED PARTICIPATION IN THE JOINT EDUCATION COMMITTEE THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2025 AND APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING FOUR (4) COMMISSIONERS TO SERVE ON SAID COMMITTEE - R-24-9-107-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-106-SS Resolution appointing a Commissioner to the Knox County Investment Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO SERVE ON THE KNOX COUNTY INVESTMENT COMMITTEE ALONG WITH THE CHAIR OF COMMISSION - R-24-9-106-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-105-SS Resolution appointing/reappointing a Commissioner to the Knox County Employee Insurance Benefits Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO THE KNOX COUNTY EMPLOYEE INSURANCE BENEFITS COMMITTEE - R-24-9-105-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-104-SS Resolution appointing a Commissioner to the Knox County Fire and Technical Rescue Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO THE KNOX COUNTY FIRE AND TECHNICAL RESCUE COMMITTEE – R-24-9-104-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-103-SS Resolution appointing/reappointing a Commissioner to the Knox County Ethics Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO SERVE AS A NON-VOTING LIAISON TO THE KNOX COUNTY ETHICS COMMITTEE - R-24-9-103-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-102-SS Resolution appointing two Commissioners to the Knox County Audit Committee CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING TWO (2) COMMISSIONERS TO THE KNOX COUNTY AUDIT COMMITTEE – R-24-9-102-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
R-24-9-101-SS Resolution appointing Commissioners to Standing Committees: Beer, Insolvency, Legislative, Rules CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION (STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE BEER BOARD, INSOLVENCY BOARD, LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE AND RULES COMMITTEE) – R-24-9-101-SS:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
Reorganization of the Knox County Commission with Election of Chair and Vice-Chair CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:
Aye
Unanimous
Sep 3, 2024
Reorganization of the Knox County Commission with Election of Chair and Vice-Chair CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:
Aye
Unanimous
Report inaccurate data