Janet Testerman has cast 2,671 published votes on the City of Knoxville, TN City Council, attending 98.2% of recorded roll calls, with 127 motions made and 14 dissents (a “no” on an adopted item).
On the issues
-
License-plate readers & surveillance cameras · voted on 5 decisions · none split
- Jan 10, 2023 Aye Resolution authorizing amendment to contract with Axon Enterprise for body cameras — adopted 9-0-0-0
-
Property taxes & reappraisal · voted on 6 decisions · none split
- May 30, 2023 Aye Ordinance levying property tax to fund General Fund and Debt Service Fund operations — adopted 8-0-0-1
-
Developer tax breaks (PILOTs) · voted on 15 decisions · 5 split
- Jan 10, 2023 Aye Resolution authorizing PILOT agreement with Core Knoxville Cumberland, LLC for various properties — adopted 7-2-0-0
- Aug 23, 2022 Aye Approve Magnolia Ave Warehouse District Redevelopment Plan amendment for TIF and PILOT — adopted 6-3-0-0
- Aug 23, 2022 Aye Approve Magnolia Ave Warehouse District Redevelopment Plan amendment for TIF and PILOT — adopted 5-4-0-0
- Feb 22, 2022 Aye Approve Amendment to Magnolia Ave Warehouse District Plan; authorize TIF — adopted 8-1-0-0
-
Homelessness & shelters · voted on 43 decisions · 1 split
- Jun 16, 2020 Aye Resolution to execute agreement with Salvation Army for COVID-19 emergency shelters — adopted 8-1-0-0
-
Middle housing in Knoxville · voted on 3 decisions · none split
- Sep 5, 2023 Aye Amend zoning code regarding Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU) — deferred 9-0-0-0
-
Chilhowee Park · voted on 2 decisions · none split
- Nov 17, 2020 Aye Approve agreement with Lee Company for chiller unit repairs — adopted 9-0-0-0
-
Hillside & ridgetop protection · voted on 21 decisions · 1 split
- Apr 20, 2021 Aye Rezone properties on Merchant Drive and Oakhill Drive to RN-5 / HP District — motion to amend adopted 7-1-0-0
-
Pension & retirement obligations · voted on 1 decision · none split
- Jul 26, 2022 Aye Amend and restate Investment Policy of Pension Board — adopted 9-0-0-0
Attendance
2622 of 2671
recorded votes he or she was present for
present means neither absent nor recused
49
recorded votes marked absent or recused
Counted from roll calls, not a sign-in sheet — a member who was present but recorded no vote is indistinguishable here from one who was absent.
When the board disagrees
193 contested decisions · how these are counted
193
contested decisions he or she cast a yes or no on
a decision is contested when at least one member voted the other way
14
of those, voted no on something adopted anyway
127 / 257
motions moved / seconded
Recaps: First 100 days · 2023 in review · 2022 in review · 2021 in review · 2020 in review
Patterns
How these are computed ↓Deterministic breakdowns of Janet Testerman’s published record — not a score or a rating. Raw counts are always shown; a percentage appears only once there are at least 10 votes. As of the meeting of September 29, 2026 — the newest published record.
Votes by topic
| Topic | Votes | Aye | No | Abstain | Body median | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning & land use | 689 | 671 (97%) | 3 (0%) | 0 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Budget & taxes | 281 | 269 (96%) | 3 (1%) | 1 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Contracts & purchasing | 277 | 270 (97%) | 0 (0%) | 0 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Personnel & appointments | 244 | 239 (98%) | 2 (1%) | 1 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Schools | 16 | 16 (100%) | 0 (0%) | 0 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Public safety | 131 | 121 (92%) | 3 (2%) | 4 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Roads & infrastructure | 315 | 311 (99%) | 0 (0%) | 0 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Parks & community | 178 | 174 (98%) | 1 (1%) | 0 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Intergovernmental & resolutions | 134 | 124 (93%) | 3 (2%) | 5 | 9–0 | See votes → |
| Surveillance & privacy technology | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 9–0 | See votes → |
Attendance & dissent over time
Attendance rate
Dissents (no on adopted)
| Year | Votes | Present | Attendance | Dissents | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 745 | 744 | 100% | 5 | See votes → |
| 2021 | 719 | 715 | 99% | 1 | See votes → |
| 2022 | 581 | 563 | 97% | 3 | See votes → |
| 2023 | 626 | 600 | 96% | 5 | See votes → |
Agreement with other members
Computed over contested votes only — the 193 non-unanimous (split) votes Janet Testerman cast, where the room recorded at least one Aye and at least one No. Unanimous votes are excluded because they carry no signal.
| Member | Voted the same | Shared split votes |
|---|---|---|
| Stephanie Welch | 1 of 1 | 1 |
| Lynne Fugate | 160 of 175 (91%) | 175 |
| Gwen McKenzie | 167 of 192 (87%) | 192 |
| Lauren Rider | 164 of 190 (86%) | 190 |
| Tommy Smith | 161 of 191 (84%) | 191 |
| Andrew Roberto | 160 of 193 (83%) | 193 |
| Charles Thomas | 147 of 183 (80%) | 183 |
| Seema Singh | 104 of 167 (62%) | 167 |
| Amelia Parker | 32 of 186 (17%) | 186 |
Motions made & seconded, by topic
| Topic | Made | Seconded | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning & land use | 14 | 98 | See votes → |
| Budget & taxes | 18 | 18 | See votes → |
| Contracts & purchasing | 24 | 29 | See votes → |
| Personnel & appointments | 11 | 15 | See votes → |
| Schools | 0 | 3 | See votes → |
| Public safety | 25 | 17 | See votes → |
| Roads & infrastructure | 15 | 29 | See votes → |
| Parks & community | 6 | 9 | See votes → |
| Intergovernmental & resolutions | 10 | 17 | See votes → |
| Surveillance & privacy technology | 2 | 2 | See votes → |
How these breakdowns are computed
Every figure on this page is a deterministic computation over Janet Testerman’s published roll-call votes on City of Knoxville, TN City Council — the same record set behind the vote table below. Nothing is a composite score, a grade, or a ranking. The general pipeline (sources, extraction, gates, review) is described on the methodology page.
- Votes by topic. Each published motion is attributed to every distinct neutral topic its agenda items carry — the primary subject and any secondary tags alike, so an item counts under every topic it’s about (and a consent-calendar motion covering several items counts under each); procedural items are excluded, as in the default vote browser. Aye/No/Abstain are counts of Janet Testerman’s own vote. A percentage is shown only when the topic has at least 10 votes. Body median is the median of the Aye and No tallies across the same motion set — the typical room split on that topic.
- Attendance & dissent over time. Bucketed by the calendar year of each meeting. Attendance = votes where Janet Testerman was recorded present (not absent or recused) ÷ total votes that year; the percentage is shown only when the year has at least 10 votes. Dissents = “No” votes on motions the body adopted anyway. The denominators for every year are in the table above.
- Term timeline & election markers. The two trend strips plot the yearly attendance and dissent figures above on a single time axis spanning Janet Testerman’s full term (Dec 21, 2019–Dec 16, 2023). The vertical lines mark public election-calendar dates — candidate-filing deadlines, primaries, and general elections — that fall within that span, each labeled with its date and type. Those dates are a matter of public record ; the timeline itself makes no claim about them. It marks the dates and draws the line; any pattern near an election is the reader’s to notice, not ours to assert.
- Agreement with other members. Computed over contested votes only — motions where the roll call recorded at least one Aye and at least one No. For each colleague, the record set is the split motions where both cast an Aye or No (their seated overlap); “voted the same” counts the motions they cast the identical value on. A percentage is shown only when that shared set reaches 10 votes. Unanimous votes are excluded on purpose: they would launder everyone into near-total agreement.
- Motions made & seconded. Straight counts of published motions where Janet Testerman is recorded as the mover or the seconder in the minutes, grouped by the motion’s neutral topic(s).
Campaign finance
Reproduced from Janet Testerman’s own campaign-finance disclosures — a public record. Amounts are the totals stated on each filing, or the itemized schedule where the filing’s own totals are not machine-readable; each row links to the filed document. We add nothing the filing does not state.
| Report | Raised | Spent | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| mid year City Council at Large Seat B as of Jul 31, 2026 | Filed — figures not yet machine-readable | easyvote — mid year → | |
| Campaign Financial Disclosure City Council at Large Seat B as of Feb 12, 2026 | Filed — reported no money raised or spent | easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure → | |
| Campaign Financial Disclosure City Council at Large Seat B as of Sep 10, 2025 | Filed — reported no money raised or spent | easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure → | |
| Campaign Financial Disclosure City Council at Large Seat B as of Feb 7, 2025 | Filed — reported no money raised or spent | easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure → | |
| Campaign Financial Disclosure City Council at Large Seat B as of Aug 6, 2024 | Filed — reported no money raised or spent | easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure → | |
| Campaign Financial Disclosure City Council at Large Seat B as of Apr 1, 2024 | Filed — reported no money raised or spent | easyvote — Campaign Financial Disclosure → | |
The county’s structured data does not carry the itemized schedule for the mid year report, so individual contributors and payees are not listed here. The filing itself lists them — follow its source link above.
Totals are the sum of the itemized contribution and expenditure schedules as disclosed. Schedules are itemized only at or above the filing threshold; sub-threshold amounts and the filer’s stated cover-page totals are not part of this structured record, so they are not shown here rather than guessed.
Disclosed interests
Reprinted from Janet Testerman’s annual Statement of Interests (Form SS-8005) — a public record filed with the Tennessee Ethics Commission. Entity names and categories exactly as filed, for the official and spouse; the form states no dollar amounts, and neither do we. Each filing links to its source.
Appointments moved
Board and committee appointments Janet Testerman moved or seconded, as recorded in the minutes. Each links to the full decision, where the complete roll call is shown.
| Appointee | Board | Term | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ashley Ramos | Knoxville Animal Control Board | not stated | Aug 8, 2023 → |
| Mark Dukes | Civil Service Merit Board | not stated | Mar 21, 2023 → |
| Paige Travis | Board of Directors of Community Television of Knoxville | not stated | Jan 10, 2023 → |
| Wade Seifert | Knoxville Golf Course Advisory Committee | not stated | May 3, 2022 → |
| Julie Eisenhower | Knoxville Golf Course Advisory Committee | not stated | May 4, 2021 → |
| Twuanna Munroe Ward | City Pension Board | not stated | Jan 12, 2021 → |
| Rick Blackburn | Downtown Design Review Board | not stated | Nov 3, 2020 → |
| David Gillette | Neighborhood Advisory Council | not stated | Jun 30, 2020 → |
Voting record
| Meeting | Agenda item | Vote | Badges |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Motion to defer:
12-j
Ordinance amending Sector Plan for property at 3313-3309 Mill Road
An Ordinance approving the request of Marty Norton for an amendment to the North City
Sector Plan from Low Density Residential to Light Industrial for property located at 3313
and 3309 Mill Road. (Planning Commission Approved 9-4) (File No. 1-A-20-SP) (Fourth
District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Deferred
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-t
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $300 to The Muse Knoxville
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville Appropriating the sum of
$300.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to the Muse
Knoxville to be utilized toward the annual STEAM Carnival.(Requested by
Councilmember Welch)
|
Aye |
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
O-21-2020
Ordinance to rezone property at 2735 MLK Jr Ave to RN-4
An Ordinance to rezone property located at 2735 Martin Luther King, Jr. Avenue from
RN-2 (Single Family Residential Neighborhood) District to RN-4 (General Residential
Neighborhood) District, City of Knoxville, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 13-
0 Consent) (File No. 1-B-20-RZ) (Sixth District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County
Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Motion to amend:
O-21-2020
Ordinance to rezone property at 2735 MLK Jr Ave to RN-4
An Ordinance to rezone property located at 2735 Martin Luther King, Jr. Avenue from
RN-2 (Single Family Residential Neighborhood) District to RN-4 (General Residential
Neighborhood) District, City of Knoxville, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 13-
0 Consent) (File No. 1-B-20-RZ) (Sixth District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County
Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance to close unimproved portion of Glen Creek Road
An Ordinance to close the unimproved portion of Glen Creek Road between 2358
McCampbell Wells Way and the terminus of Glen Creek Road right-of-way, and
authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, Trans
South Properties, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 1-
B-20-SC) (Fourth District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance to close unnamed alley between 3617 and 3601 Sutherland Ave
An Ordinance to close an unnamed alley between 3617 Sutherland Avenue and 3601
Sutherland Avenue, City Block 50620, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim
deeds to the adjacent property owners, Rodney Reagan, Farm Fresh Produce Mkt.,
Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 1-A-20-AC) (Sixth
District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance to close unimproved section of Autumn Creek Drive
An Ordinance to close the unimproved section of Autumn Creek Drive between 5714
Autumn Creek Drive and Glen Creek Road, and authorizing the Mayor to execute
quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, Trans South Properties, Applicant.
(Planning Commission Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 1-A-20-SC) (Fourth
District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance amending City of Knoxville Zoning Code
An Ordinance to amend Ordinance No. O-107-2019, known and cited as "The City of
Knoxville Zoning Code" to clarify language, correct inconsistencies, and to align
ordinance language with processes and procedures, Knoxville-Knox County Planning,
Applicant. (Planning Commission approved 13-0) (File No. 12-A-19-OA) (All
Districts)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Motion to amend:
Ordinance amending City of Knoxville Zoning Code
An Ordinance to amend Ordinance No. O-107-2019, known and cited as "The City of
Knoxville Zoning Code" to clarify language, correct inconsistencies, and to align
ordinance language with processes and procedures, Knoxville-Knox County Planning,
Applicant. (Planning Commission approved 13-0) (File No. 12-A-19-OA) (All
Districts)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance to amend Downtown Knoxville Design Guidelines
An Ordinance to amend the Downtown Knoxville Design Guidelines as recommended by
the Downtown Design Review Board and Planning staff, Knoxville-Knox County Planning,
Applicant. (Planning Commission approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 1-B-20-OB) (All
Districts)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance appropriating $13,924.02 for Challenge Grant Award Program
An Ordinance appropriating the total sum of $13,924.02 from the Parks and Recreation
Department's Grants and Benevolence Fund and donating same for completed projects
to various qualified organizations as part of the Challenge Grant Award Program.
(Requested by Parks and Recreation Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Ordinance extending moratorium on shared mobility vehicles
An Ordinance extending the moratorium imposed by Ordinance Nos. O-137-2018, O-16-
2019, and O-101-2019 upon shared mobility vehicles within the City of Knoxville through
September 2, 2020, with the exception of those shared mobility vehicle providers
operating in accordance with and authorized by the City’s pilot program. (Requested by
Law Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
O-20-2020
Emergency Ordinance creating Downtown Festival District for alcohol consumption
An Emergency Ordinance amending Section 4-76 of Chapter 4 of the Knoxville City Code
so as to create a Downtown Festival District and to allow possession and consumption of
beer and alcoholic beverages on public property within the Festival Event Area, upon
approval of a Special Beer Permit by the Beer Board under such terms, conditions, rules
and regulations as the Beer Board may establish. (Requested by Beer Board Chair
Roberto and Vice Mayor McKenzie)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
R-51-2020
Resolution approving the annual budget of the Central Business Improvement District
A Resolution approving the annual budget of the Central Business Improvement District
for Fiscal Year 2019-2020. (Requested by Office of Redevelopment)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
R-50-2020
Resolution authorizing amendment to contract with Visit Knoxville for Census marketing
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an amendment to Contract Number C-13-
0089 between the City of Knoxville and Knoxville Convention & Visitors Bureau d/b/a Visit
Knoxville to expand the scope of services to provide for Census marketing for an
additional contract amount not to exceed $35,000.00.(Requested by Office of
Redevelopment)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
R-49-2020
Resolution authorizing agreement for ICAC training with TN Assoc. of Chiefs of Police
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with the Tennessee
Association of Chiefs of Police to coordinate Internet Crimes Against Children
Investigator training and website maintenance, pursuant to a grant from the United States
Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Programs, in an
amount not to exceed $79,000.00.(Requested by Knoxville Police Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
R-48-2020
Resolution requesting study for Alcoa Highway Corridor development
A Resolution respectfully requesting Knoxville-Knox County Planning to undertake a
study to develop an approach and policies for envisioning and managing development
and redevelopment along the Alcoa Highway Corridor.(Requested by Councilmember
Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
R-47-2020
Resolution requesting corridor study for Western Ave/Oak Ridge Hwy
A Resolution respectfully requesting Knoxville-Knox County Planning to undertake a
corridor study for Western Avenue/Oak Ridge Highway. (Requested by Councilmember
Singh)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
O-19-2020
Ordinance amending Classification and Compensation Plan for General Government employees
An Ordinance to amend Section 2-450 of the Knoxville City Code to adjust the City of
Knoxville's Classification and Compensation Plan for General Government
employees.(Requested by Civil Service)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
O-18-2020
Ordinance to amend FY19/20 Operating and Capital Budgets
An Ordinance to amend the FY19/20 Operating and Capital Budgets. (Requested by
Finance Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-v
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $1,500 to Carpetbag Theatre Inc.
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$1,500.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to the
Carpetbag Theatre Inc. to be utilized toward the 30th Annual Youth Theatre
Festival.(Requested by Vice Mayor McKenzie and Councilmembers Roberto, Singh, &
Rider)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-u
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $1,250 to Knoxville Area Urban League
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$1,250.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to Knoxville
Area Urban League, Inc. to be utilized toward the shoes for school event.(Requested by
Vice Mayor McKenzie and Councilmembers Welch, Roberto, Singh, and Rider)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-s
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $1,000 to Metro Drug Coalition
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$1,000.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to Metro
Drug Coalition to be utilized toward recovery housing.(Requested by Councilmember
Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-r
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $500 to East Tennessee Community Design Center
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$500.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to East
Tennessee Community Design Center, Inc. to be utilized toward Vectorworks software
updates and plotter repairs.(Requested by Councilmember Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-q
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $500 to SEEED, Inc.
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$500.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to SEEED,
Inc. to be utilized toward the career readiness and community engagement training
programs.(Requested by Councilmember Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-p
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $500 to Centro Hispano de East Tennessee
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$500.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to Centro
Hispano de East Tennessee to be utilized toward the Lideramos Latino Leadership
Conference.(Requested by Councilmember Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-o
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $250 to Alpha Pi Omega Foundation
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$250.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to Alpha Pi
Omega Foundation toward the Annual Alfredda C. Delaney Scholarship Brunch
event.(Requested by Councilmember Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
12-n
Emergency Ordinance appropriating $200 to Epilepsy Foundation
An Emergency Ordinance of the Council of the City of Knoxville appropriating the sum of
$200.00 from the Community Improvement (202) Fund and donating same to Epilepsy
Foundation of East Tennessee to be utilized toward purchasing helmets.(Requested by
Councilmember Welch)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Feb 11, 2020 |
Approve minutes of previous meeting
APPROVAL OF MINUTES
Motion to: approve the minutes of the January 28, 2020 Regular Meeting of City Council
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
Approve appeal of Board of Zoning Appeals decision for property at 931 Langford Ave
A Resolution approving an appeal by Jennifer Arthur of the Board of Zoning Appeals' decision to approve four variances, more fully described herein, for property temporarily designated as 931 Langford Avenue, Michael Davis, Applicant. (File number 11-I-19-VA)(Requested by Plans Review and Inspections)
|
Aye |
Deferred
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
Rezone property on East Fifth Avenue from Park and Open Space to Planned Residential
An Ordinance to rezone property located at 1605 East Fifth Avenue (Parcel ID 82 PK 038), 1615 East Fifth Avenue (Parcel ID 82 PK 035), and 1617 East Fifth Avenue (Parcel ID 82 PK 034), all from OS-2 (Park and Open Space) District to RP-1 (Planned Residential) District, not to exceed 24 dwelling units per acre, City of Knoxville, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 10-1) (PC File No. 10-S-19-RZ) (Sixth District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Withdrawn
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
Authorize Mayor to execute lease agreement with Thrive Lonsdale for a community center
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute a lease agreement with SOAR Youth Ministries, Inc. d/b/a Thrive Lonsdale for lease of a portion of the property located at 1212 New York Avenue for use as a community center.(Requested by Finance Department)
|
Aye |
Withdrawn
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
Amend Knoxville City Code Section 2-450 to adjust Classification and Compensation Plan
An Ordinance to amend Section 2-450 of the Knoxville City Code to adjust the City of Knoxville's Classification and Compensation Plan for General Government employees.(Requested by Civil Service)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
Amend the FY19/20 Operating and Capital Budgets
An Ordinance to amend the FY19/20 Operating and Capital Budgets.(Requested by Finance Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-46-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute agreement with Clean Earth of Alabama for hazardous waste services
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with Clean Earth of Alabama, Inc. to provide transportation and disposal services for the household hazardous wastes collected through the joint City/County Household Hazardous Waste Collection Program.(Requested by Public Service Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-45-2020
Authorize Mayor to accept AAA grant for Distracted Driving awareness items
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute any and all documents necessary to apply for and accept a grant award of $3,500.00, with no required local match, from AAA - the Auto Club Group in Tennessee, to purchase items to enhance awareness of the dangers of Distracted Driving.(Requested by Knoxville Police Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-44-2020
Authorize Mayor to apply for and accept Appalachia HIDTA Grant for narcotics crimes
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute any and all documents necessary to apply for and accept an Appalachia High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Grant in the amount of $161,500.00, with no required matching funds, from the U.S. Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration as part of the multi-jurisdictional law enforcement agency efforts in combating narcotics crimes, to be used to fund officer overtime.(Requested by Knoxville Police Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-43-2020
Authorize Mayor to amend agreement with Helen Ross McNabb Center for Sexual Assault Center
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute a First Amendment to Agreement No. C-19-0106 with Helen Ross McNabb Center, Inc. which provides funding in an amount not to exceed $25,000.00 for essential services of the Sexual Assault Center of East Tennessee, to extend the term of the Agreement through June 30, 2020 and to provide for the option to extend the Agreement for one additional one-year period.(Requested by Knoxville Police Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-42-2020
Rescind R-352-2019; authorize Mayor to apply for/accept grant for transit buses
A Resolution rescinding Resolution No. R-352-2019 and authorizing the Mayor to execute any and all documents necessary to apply for and, if awarded, accept a grant from the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation and the Tennessee Department of Transportation in the amount of $2,204,680.00 on behalf of Knoxville Area Transit for the purchase of three fixed-route transit buses using the VW Settlement Transit and Shuttle Bus Grant Funds with a City match of $56,530.00.(Requested by Knoxville Area Transit)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-41-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute agreement with Rogers Group for 2020 Resurfacing Project
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with Rogers Group, Inc. for an amount not to exceed $4,414,673.40 for the 2020 Resurfacing Project.(Requested by Department of Engineering)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-40-2020
Authorize Mayor to amend contract with Morgan Contracting for Cured-in-Place Pipe Project
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to amend Contract No. C-20-0092 with Morgan Contracting Inc. for the Cured-in-Place Pipe Project, increasing the contract amount by $130,158.81 for a new contract total of $950,863.81.(Requested by Department of Engineering)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-39-2020
Authorize Mayor to accept Travelers' proposal for builders' risk insurance coverage
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to accept a proposal from Travelers Property Casualty Company of America for builders' risk insurance coverage for the City of Knoxville for an estimated total premium of $194,159.00 and to execute a contract consistent with Travelers' proposal.(Requested by Employee Benefits & Risk Management Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
O-8-2020
Rezone property at 2350 Robinson Road to RN-2 Single Family Residential Neighborhood
An Ordinance to rezone property located at 2350 Robinson Road, Parcel ID 106 A A 00302 from A-1 (General Agricultural) District / RP-1 (Planned Residential) District / R-1 (Low Density Residential) District to RN-2 (Single Family Residential Neighborhood) District, T. Dean Larue, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 15-0 Consent) (PC File No. 11-F-19-RZ) (Third District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
O-7-2020
Close right-of-way at 1119 Sevier Avenue, authorize quitclaim deeds to adjacent owners
An Ordinance to close the portion of the right-of-way located at 1119 Sevier Avenue between 1115 Sevier Avenue and 1125 Sevier Avenue, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, Daniel Odle, Applicant. (PC Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 12-B-19-SC) (First District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
O-6-2020
Close portion of alley at 237 Maryville Pike, authorize quitclaim deeds to property owners
An Ordinance to close a portion of the unnamed alley between Maryville Pike and the unnamed right-of-way at the rear lot line of Lot 13 on City Ward Map 25, 237 Maryville Pike, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, Ian Adamski, Applicant. (PC Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 12-A-19-AC) (First District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
O-5-2020
Close unnamed right-of-way from West Cliff Drive to Ten Mile Creek, authorize quitclaim deeds
An Ordinance to close an unnamed right-of-way from West Cliff Drive between 8100 West Cliff Drive and 8020 West Cliff Drive to the end of the unimproved right-of-way at Ten Mile Creek, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, William Webb, Applicant. (PC Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 12-A-19-SC) (Third District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-38-2020
Appoint Lynne Fugate to City Pension Board, fulfilling Stephanie Welch's unexpired term
A Resolution appointing Lynne Fugate to fulfill the unexpired term of Stephanie Welch as City Council's representative on the City Pension Board.(Requested by Vice Mayor McKenzie)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-37-2020
Confirm appointments to Board of Directors of Community Television of Knoxville
A Resolution confirming the appointments of Kumi Alderman, Charles Lomax, Jr., and Stephanie Brewer Cook to the Board of Directors of Community Television of Knoxville.(Requested by Law Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-36-2020
Reappoint Ellen Lee and George Anna Yarbro to Knox County Board of Equalization
A Resolution reappointing Ellen Lee and George Anna Yarbro to the Knox County Board of Equalization.(Requested by Mayor Kincannon)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
R-12-2020
Grant pension of $3,001.44/month to Madeline A. Rogero of General Government
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,001.44 per month to Madeline A. Rogero, an employee of the Knoxville General Government.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-13-2020
Grant pension of $3,497.55/month to John E. Tillett of Knoxville Fire Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,497.55 per month to John E. Tillett, an employee of the Knoxville Fire Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-14-2020
Grant pension of $2,758.10/month to Richard T. Collins of General Government
A Resolution granting a pension of $2,758.10 per month to Richard T. Collins, an employee of the Knoxville General Government.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-15-2020
Grant pension of $630.28/month to Roger L. Kelley of General Government
A Resolution granting a pension of $630.28 per month to Roger L. Kelley, an employee of the Knoxville General Government.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-16-2020
Grant pension of $4,665.58/month to Robert A. Kollenberg of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,665.58 per month to Robert A. Kollenberg, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-17-2020
Grant pension of $3,511.68/month to Robert G. Rose of Knoxville Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,511.68 per month to Robert G. Rose, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-18-2020
Grant pension of $3,214.48/month to Ronald W. Trentham of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,214.48 per month to Ronald W. Trentham, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-19-2020
Grant pension of $4,051.80/month to Russell Whitfield of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,051.80 per month to Russell Whitfield, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-20-2020
Grant pension of $603.70/month to Steven W. Barnes of Knoxville Fire Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $603.70 per month to Steven W. Barnes, an employee of the Knoxville Fire Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-21-2020
Grant pension of $3,102.03/month to Tracy D. May of Knoxville Fire Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,102.03 per month to Tracy D. May, an employee of the Knoxville Fire Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-22-2020
Grant pension of $4,334.10/month to Timothy M. Snoderly of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,334.10 per month to Timothy M. Snoderly, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-23-2020
Grant pension of $5,107.53/month to Warren E. Hamlin of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $5,107.53 per month to Warren E. Hamlin, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-24-2020
Grant pension of $4,498.45/month to Jeffrey L. Stiles of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,498.45 per month to Jeffrey L. Stiles, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-25-2020
Grant pension of $4,040.02/month to John D. Shelton of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,040.02 per month to John D. Shelton, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-26-2020
Grant pension of $130.35/month (defined benefit) to John F. Saunders, Jr.
A Resolution granting a pension of $130.35 per month (defined benefit only) to John F. Saunders, Jr., an employee of the Knoxville General Government.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-27-2020
Grant pension of $3,539.26/month to James M. McCarter II of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,539.26 per month to James M. McCarter II, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-28-2020
Grant pension of $3,844.64/month to John M. Mays of Knoxville Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,844.64 per month to John M. Mays, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-29-2020
Grant pension of $3,730.64/month to Jack R. Lay of Knoxville Fire Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,730.64 per month to Jack R. Lay, an employee of the Knoxville Fire Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-30-2020
Grant pension of $2,995.47/month to Joseph Huckleby of Knoxville Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $2,995.47 per month to Joseph Huckleby, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-31-2020
Grant pension of $1,881.36/month to Janet L. Brewer of General Government
A Resolution granting a pension of $1,881.36 per month to Janet L. Brewer, an employee of the Knoxville General Government.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-32-2020
Grant pension of $1,758.20/month to Evelyn D. Thomas of General Government
A Resolution granting a pension of $1,758.20 per month to Evelyn D. Thomas, an employee of the Knoxville General Government.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-33-2020
Grant pension of $3,802.72/month to Darrell W. Whitaker of Fire Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,802.72 per month to Darrell W. Whitaker, an employee of the Knoxville Fire Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-34-2020
Grant pension of $4,022.19/month to Craig E. McNew of Police Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,022.19 per month to Craig E. McNew, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
R-35-2020
Grant pension of $4,082.12/month to Brian E. Townsend of Fire Department
A Resolution granting a pension of $4,082.12 per month to Brian E. Townsend, an employee of the Knoxville Fire Department.(Requested by Pension Board)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
Consent
|
| Jan 28, 2020 |
Approve minutes from the January 14, 2020 Regular Meeting of City Council
Motion to: approve the minutes of the January 14, 2020 Regular Meeting of City Council
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-11-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute agreement with Robin Easter Design for Police Dept recruiting campaign
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with Robin Easter Design to develop a comprehensive multimedia marketing/branding campaign designed to enhance the Police Department's recruiting efforts, in an amount not to exceed $100,000.00.(Requested by Knoxville Police Department)
|
Aye |
Split
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Motion to defer:
Authorize Mayor to execute lease agreement with SOAR Youth Ministries for community center
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute a lease agreement with SOAR Youth Ministries, Inc. d/b/a Thrive Lonsdale for lease of a portion of the property located at 1212 New York Avenue for use as a community center. (Requested by Finance Department)
|
Aye |
Deferred
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Rezone property at 2350 Robinson Road to RN-2
An Ordinance to rezone property located at 2350 Robinson Road, Parcel ID 106 A A 00302 from A-1 (General Agricultural) District / RP-1 (Planned Residential) District / R-1 (Low Density Residential) District to RN-2 (Single Family Residential Neighborhood) District, T. Dean Larue, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 15-0 Consent) (PC File No. 11-F-19-RZ) (Third District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Close unnamed alley between Maryville Pike and rear lot line of Lot 13
An Ordinance to close a portion of the unnamed alley between Maryville Pike and the unnamed right-of-way at the rear lot line of Lot 13 on City Ward Map 25, 237 Maryville Pike, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, Ian Adamski, Applicant. (PC Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 12-A-19-AC) (First District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Close unnamed right-of-way from West Cliff Drive at Ten Mile Creek
An Ordinance to close an unnamed right-of-way from West Cliff Drive between 8100 West Cliff Drive and 8020 West Cliff Drive to the end of the unimproved right-of-way at Ten Mile Creek, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, William Webb, Applicant. (PC Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 12-A-19-SC) (Third District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Close portion of Sevier Ave right-of-way at 1119
An Ordinance to close the portion of the right-of-way located at 1119 Sevier Avenue between 1115 Sevier Avenue and 1125 Sevier Avenue, and authorizing the Mayor to execute quitclaim deeds to the adjacent property owners, Daniel Odle, Applicant. (PC Approved 13-0 Consent) (File No. 12-B-19-SC) (First District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-10-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute agreement with Vaughn & Melton Consulting Engineers, Inc.
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with Vaughn & Melton Consulting Engineers, Inc. for an amount not to exceed $189,120.00 to provide construction administration services for the Urban Wilderness Gateway Project.(Requested by Parks and Recreation Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-9-2020
Amend contract with Preen Construction for Cal Johnson Recreation Center Renovations
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to amend Contract No. C-19-0279 with Preen Construction, LLC for the Cal Johnson Recreation Center Renovations Project, increasing the contract amount by $29,902.54 for a new contract total of $534,738.72 and extending the date of completion to February 7, 2020.(Requested by Parks and Recreation Department)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-8-2020
Authorize Mayor to contract with Wood Environment & Infrastructure Solutions, Inc.
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to enter into a contract with Wood Environment & Infrastructure Solutions, Inc. for professional construction engineering and inspection services as part of the South Waterfront Public Improvement Project known as City South Streetscapes Project for an amount not to exceed $197,150.00.(Requested by Office of Redevelopment)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-7-2020
Authorize Mayor to contract with Fulghum MacIndoe & Associates, Inc.
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor enter into a Contract with Fulghum MacIndoe & Associates, Inc. for professional civil engineering design and field surveying services related to the right-of-way drainage improvements project associated with the Sevier Avenue Corridor for an amount not to exceed $48,850.00.(Requested by Department of Engineering and Office of Redevelopment)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-6-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute agreement with Design and Construction Services, Inc.
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with Design and Construction Services, Inc. for the 2020 On-Call Sidewalk Replacement Project for an amount not to exceed $548,655.00.(Requested by Department of Engineering)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-5-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute agreement with Bell & Associates Construction for Wilson Ave Sidewalk Project
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an agreement with Bell & Associates Construction, L.P. for the Wilson Avenue Sidewalk Project for an amount not to exceed $1,062,397.50.(Requested by Department of Engineering)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-4-2020
Amend contract with The Crowley Company for digital conversion of records
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to amend Contract No. C-18-0334 with The Crowley Company to complete digital conversion of records currently archived in the Technical Services Office of the Engineering Department, increasing the contract amount by $15,984.58 for a new contract total of $90,234.58.(Requested by Department of Engineering)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-3-2020
Authorize Mayor to execute easement agreement with Blueprint Group, LLC
A Resolution authorizing the Mayor to execute an easement agreement with Blueprint Group, LLC to allow building elements at 835 North Central Street to encroach into the public rights-of-way of North Central Street and Pruett Place.(Requested by Department of Engineering)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
O-2-2020
Rezone property at 0 Dick Lonas Road from A-1 to O
An Ordinance to rezone property located at 0 Dick Lonas Road, Parcel ID 106 D A 00809 from A-1 (General Agricultural) District to O (Office) District, HCV Realty Investment, LLC, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 15-0 Consent) (PC File No. 11-B-19-RZ) (Third District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
O-1-2020
Change street name of Ginn Drive to Ginn Farm Drive
An Ordinance to change the street name of Ginn Drive between Alcoa Highway and the dead-end of Ginn Drive at Maloney Road Park, southwest of Alcoa Highway, to Ginn Farm Drive, Knoxville-Knox County Planning, Applicant. (Planning Commission Approved 15-0 Consent) (PC File No. 9-C-19-SNC) (First District)(Requested by Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-2-2020
Grant pension to Debbie H. Jackson
A Resolution granting a pension of $2,821.88 per month to Debbie H. Jackson, an employee of the Knoxville General Government. (Requested by Pension Board)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
R-1-2020
Grant pension to Savannah L. Ayub
A Resolution granting a pension of $3,903.48 per month to Savannah L. Ayub, an employee of the Knoxville Police Department. (Requested by Pension Board)
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Approve minutes of December 21, 2019 special meeting
approve the minutes of the December 21, 2019 Special Meeting of City Council
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|
| Jan 14, 2020 |
Approve minutes of December 17, 2019 regular meeting
approve the minutes of the December 17, 2019 Regular Meeting of City Council
|
Aye |
Unanimous
|